top of page

Hannah Slavin - I Am A Mess

TV talent shows have long been a double-edged sword, on one hand you get insane exposure, and on the other you’re forever labelled before discarded by some "record executive.” However, on rare occasions this raw talent can develop and through hard-work blossom into something special - step forward Hannah Slavin.

After bursting into the consciousness of TV viewers everywhere via BBC One’s Pitch Battle, Hannah is now looking to make the step up with latest single ‘I Am A Mess’.


The single release couldn’t have been better timed; just as summer starts to settle in (eventually!) and the clouds clear, we are treated to a fresh ray of sunshine from the Glasgow-born, London-based singer songwriter. Musically, we see Hannah channeling the feel-good pop vibes of Sigrid and Charlie Puth, which provides a tropical backdrop allowing her extraordinary vocal range to take centre-stage.


Talking about the release of ‘I Am A Mess’, Hannah went on to describes some of the lyrical meaning;

“To be honest I was kind of tired of people (and myself at times) referring to me as a mess like it was a bad thing, because I go out and let my hair down, and drink too much. I want people to enjoy having a good time and not feel bad about not having their shit together all the time, because I certainly don’t feel bad about it’

It’s a sentiment which no doubt resonates with many, why should we allow ourselves to be crushed by the weight of perfection?


I mean, who has their shit-together 24/7? Who gets to the gym everyday or drinks that kale smoothie before work? No-one. With the added pressures from social media to seek that “picture-perfect life”, sometimes you just need to let go and embrace the messy side of life, something which Hannah Slavin encapsulate throughout this infectious pop track. - DC


Live Dates

22nd June - Youth Beatz (supporting Sigma and Louisa)

3rd July - XPO NORTH

11th August - King Tut's Summer Festival



Get 'I Am A Mess' added to your Summer Playlists, be it for a pool party in Ibiza or just yer Da’s BBQ out the back.

 

Hannah Slavin

 

bottom of page