top of page

Isolation Insiders: L-Space

With the world in self-isolation and gigs coming to a halt, except for broadband-dependent live shows, we thought we'd keep our favourite artists and their fans entertained with a series of interviews.

You'll soon learn everything from their German supermarket of choice to favourite pick 'n' mix and of course some hard-hitting music journalisms inbetween.

L-Space


More than just your usual electronic band, L-Space have continued to produce complex and moving pieces of music, with delicate pop sensibilities. Latest album Feed the Engines! sees this really come to fore, as they release their most ambitious and instant album to date. We caught up with Lily, Gordon and Dickson for a quick blether...



Q1. What’s the L-Space origin story?

First I met Gordon when we worked at the same charity. We got chatting when we realised we had similar interests in music, science fiction and working out the resources needed for pigs to live on the moon.


Later we met Dickson(D) when Gordon(G) was running the arts journal The Grind and put on an event with Dickson (who also writes fiction).


We found out he played bass and he joined the band! Our live line-up has changed over time to include Maggie Tam, Maura Keane and Stephen Solo (Farrell).


Q2. Describe each member in three words?

G - Inspirational pop phenom, bass wizard extraordinaire, obstinate song monkey.

D - Furby-eyed, cosmic redhead; Guitar-hating, guitar-playing song-wizard

Lily (L) - Hard-working, innovative composer. Groovy, punny Dogfather



Q3. If someone’s never listened to you before, which track should they start with?

G - I think Karoshi is a good place to start - it gets our worldview across and has a lots of cool synth tones and catchy little riffs.

D - Aloe. It's always been my favourite L-space song and I imagine it always will be. It does good things to my head. You'll feel like you should be watching - or in - a film of some sort when you listen to it.

L - Karoshi

Q3. If you could be in any other band, which would it be and which instrument would you want to play?

G - I'd have to say Radiohead and play backing guitar; nothing too strenuous so I can enjoy the show each night.

D - Drummer in Mogwai

L - Synth and vocals with Grimes, or cello in Radiohead (if I am magically suddenly good at cello)

Q4. Who's your favourite Scottish artist at the moment?

G - Super Inuit for sure - I love how effortless their songs sound but you can tell every detail is meticulously planned.

D -  Broken Chanter or Cloth

L - This is a really hard question as there are so many I like and I can't pick a favourite! I say check out Chuchoter and Raza.

Q5. Which song do you currently have on heavy repeat?

G - Shinkirou Dropper - Macaroom

D - 'Everything Connected' by Jon Hopkins

L - 'Delete Forever' by Grimes.

Q6. What would you say are the main creative differences between your latest album ‘Feed the Engines!’ and debut 'Kipple Arcadia'?

G - On Feed The Engines! I stopped using so many layers of synths and whittled everything down to only what was strictly necessary - it gives the album a more immediate and punchy feel. Lily's lyrics and vocals are far more prominent as well, which I really like.

D - Feed the Engines! is cleaner and has more punch; Kipple Arcadia has many more synths but plenty warmth

L - The lyrics are still quite speculative, but I tried making them more about the current time and near future in this record, and more of a look at our experience of our society. Kipple Arcadia was more futuristic and sci-fi. I also have learned more about my voice for this record:

I'm trying to write within my natural range more, and improve my singing. During Kipple Arcadia I wrote a lot of melodies I couldn't sing easily, and I also was not as good at singing then.

I am still working on this, but as I learn and improve more, the melodies I create will change. I have learned more about using vocal layers and effects.


Q7. Which do you prefer, live shows or experimenting in the studio?

G - I actually record most of the music at home; all the synths and beats and guitar etc. That's my happy place.

I love spending hours experimenting with sounds and arrangements until I get that eureka moment.

D - I like each equally

L- My favourite is experimenting in the studio! It is the best feeling to be creating and experimenting and then finding something which sounds good, or a new way of expressing something we haven't tried before. The eureka moments and then listening to the finished track are the best feelings.


Q8. Favourite live music venue?

G - Hug and Pint - I hope they open up again soon. The food is exceptional.

D - Barrowlands

L - For watching gigs I aways enjoy an outside venue with more space (I don't enjoy crowds). For playing a gig, we have found The Glad Cafe to be very good.

Q8. Ever been star struck when meeting or playing with other bands?

G - I don't get star struck. In terms of shows we've played, OK Button are some of the nicest people we've ever had the pleasure of sharing a stage with.

D -  A little bit when we supported Bis as I listened (and jumped about on sticky dancefloors) to them in the 90s, and saw them on Top of the Pops!

L - I also loved playing with OK Button! They were so good at what they did and great to hang out with. I was also struck and inspired by the vibe, energy and talent of DJ Flugvél Og Geimskip and Haru Nemuri!


Q9. Scariest gig experience?

G - While we were doing our live BBC Radio Scotland session the beat wouldn't start for the last song - it only took a few seconds to fix but it felt like a lifetime as I was frantically shoving cables and wires into anything that didn't already have a cable or wire in it.

D -  I haven't really had a scary gig experience. Kelburn Garden Party was as scary as it got, because I couldn't hear anyone and we were . . . well, let's say it wasn't our finest moment.

L - Any gig where I can't hear myself is horrible. I use an in-ear monitor system, but in some situations where I can't it can be a constant struggle throughout the gig.


Q10.What would you change about the music industry?

G - the current situation where any white guy with a guitar becomes an instant press sensation. There is a wealth of interesting and diverse bands out there doing new and exciting things; they should get as much, if not more, attention than yet another man singing about drinking and shagging.

D - I've never managed to get my head around why music is pretty much free to the listener but an absolute fortune to the creator. This balance should be redressed. Also, promoters that are essentially 'pay to play', they should, well . . . change.

L - I'd like there to be less of a barrier to people with low income to make music and get it heard. There is often a financial barrier with things like recording, equipment, travelling to gigs, marketing, conference fees that means that money can be what gives people the chance of success instead of talent and hard work. 

Q11. With everyone now at home, what are you top tips to avoid waves of boredom?

G - I've been amusing myself with strategy games and reading sci-fi, which isn't really a change from my normal life...

D - We've got loads of stuff at our disposal, so we shouldn't be bored. Listen to lots of music; write a story; paint your skirting boards; clear out your loft; dance.

L - I suggest try learning a new language, or drawing a comic. These can be done with resources most people have already.

Try to learn and create at least one new thing each day: even if it is small.
 

Q12. Aldi or Lidl?

G - Lidl

D - Aldi

L - I've never lived near an Aldi, so needs to be Lidl by default. I like how you get strange combinations of things in the middle aisle, like hair-dryers next to sea monkeys.

Q13. Favourite sweet from Pix N Mix?

G - Gummy dolphins

D - Milk bottle / milk chew

L - Chocolate-covered nuts

Q14. Do you sing in the shower?

G - I find myself singing Modest Mouse. I don't even really like Modest Mouse.

D - Yes. Kate Bush, The Cure, Martika, Swing Out Sister, KLF, Haim

L - Only if I'm trying to work out a song I am writing. I realised when answering this question that if I am alone, unless I am actively working on music, I don't use my voice at all. I quite like periods of muteness and quiet.

Q15. Are Avocados strictly for Hipsters?

G - Absolutely not - avocados are better than home ownership.

D - No

L - Avocados are the food of the gods

Q16. You host a dream dinner night but can only invite 3 musicians guests. Who are they?

G - Henryk Górecki, Prince, Scott Hutchison

D - Nina Simone; Amy Winehouse; Gil Scott-Heron

L - Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Syd Barrett, a pre-historic musician because I would like to see what kind of music they would make, and what ideas they would try to express with music.

Q17. Can you remember what the original Irn-Bru used to taste like?

G - It's a fading memory cut adrift in a sea of nostalgia

L - I only usually drank Diet Irn-Bru or Irn-Bru Xtra so I don't remember (we can only assume Dickson is either a Coca-Cola man...or understandable fed up with our questions!)


Q18. Buckfast, Dragonsoop or MD20/20?

G - Buckfast

D - MD 20/20

L - I've only tried Buckfast!

 

Check out L-Space's beautiful 'No One Lives Here Anymore', the final track from new album 'Feed the Engines!'


L-Space.

 

bottom of page