top of page

Isolation Insiders: Charrette.

With the world in self-isolation and gigs coming to a halt, except for broadband-dependent live shows, we thought we'd keep our favourite artists and their fans entertained with a series of interviews.

You'll soon learn everything from their supermarket of choice to favourite pick 'n' mix and of course some hard-hitting music journalisms inbetween.

Charrette.


Next up is Glasgow's Charrette. (or Ewan C. Grant to his Mum) who is starting to make waves as he deftly weaves his experiences growing up in Glasgow with a techno-driven sound.


Q1. What’s the Charrette. origin story?

Charrette. started as an art school project at GSA working with found sounds and samples of journeys through Glasgow.

I got really obsessed with sampling and generative music but the pop side of me wanted to scale it back, make more interesting pop songs and challenge myself to write on instruments I'm not as proficient in as I'm originally a guitarist.

My lockdown piano skills have improved significantly.


Q2. Describe Charrette. in three words?

What I do.

Q3. If you could be in any other band, which would it be and which instrument would you want to play?

I'd like to play something in the Stockholm Symphony or anything in Kamasi Washington's band.

Q4. Who's your favourite Scottish artist at the moment?

Can we claim Sega Bodega? U Got the Fever for sure. Everything off his new album. I like those MOY tracks too but  I think that's me claiming someone else for Scotland.

Q5. You released debut single, 'Only You' last year, when did the writing process start and how did it develop into the final track?

Maybe a few months before. I spent a lot of time trying to find a style I liked and tried loads, including a poor attempt at grime. That was what I settled on but since then things have evolved into something much better, more intricate and exciting.

It was the like the three nice chords I knew on piano at the time sampled and pitch shifted. I hadn't produced a lot of music before that so there's a lot of things I'd do differently now.

Q6. Which do you prefer, live shows or experimenting in the studio?

Probably studio as it's my happy place. Live is up there but the amount of cables and settings to do this live can be a bit stressful as I don't rely on any playback/backing tracks.


Q7.Favourite live music venue?

Paradiso, Amsterdam. It's the best and I had the pleasure of playing there a few years ago with Kurt Vile.

Q8. Ever been star struck when meeting or playing with other bands?

Most of the bands and artists I like and have met are super down to earth so that feeling normally fades fast. Kurt Vile was cool, Steve Albini scared me first time I met him for about 20 minutes and then became the nicest guy.

Q9.What would you change about the music industry?

I dunno, people get mad at the "industry" as an excuse not to work very hard. It is what you make of it. You can definitely buy your way into progressing faster, which I can't, but at the end of the day you should be making music for yourself. It's just what you do and it's really nice when people care about it. 

Q10. What's the first thing you'll do post lockdown?

Play football on the green. I miss that so much.

Q11. With everyone now at home, what are you top tips to avoid waves of boredom?

Learn a skill, paint, edit, write, express yourself. I'm doing a 7-minute daily ab workout with on youtube with some gym-bro that listens to djent...let's see how that works out. Call your family!

 

Q12. Aldi or Lidl?

Aldi

Q13. Favourite sweet from Pix N Mix?

I'm sweet enough.

Q14. Do you sing in the shower? What songs?

Formation - Beyonce

Q15. Are Avocados strictly for Hipsters?

Avocados are for eating.

Q16. You host a dream dinner night but can only invite 3 musicians guests. Who are they?

Frank Ocean, Aidan Moffat, Yaeji.

Q17. Can you remember what the original Irn-Bru used to taste like?

I don't think I've had it since so yes?

Q18. Buckfast, Dragonsoop or MD20/20?

Buckfast.

 

Check out Charrette's atmospheric debut single, Only You, released back in 2019:


Charrette.

 

bottom of page